Skip to main content

Walter W. Stiern Library: Borrowing and Using the Library

How to Check-Out Books

To check out, just bring your items and CSUB ID to the check-out desk!

CSUB students and students of other CSUs who are currently enrolled in classes may check out materials at the Walter Stiern Library. CSUB students must have their CSUB ID cards for all transactions. CSU students must have their current CSU campus ID and proof of enrollment to qualify for checkout privileges.

Collection or Media Type Student and Staff Privileges Student
Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

16 weeks, no renewals

$0.15 per day per item

iPads & Laptops

7 days

$10.00 per day

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

30 days, 2 item maximum

$1.00 per day per item

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

30 days, 2 renewals, 10 item maximum

$1.00 per day per item

Course Reserves

2 hour (closed & open), 24 hour, 3 day & 7 day; closed reserves are available for in-Library use only.

$1.00 per hour per item for 2 & 24 hour items; $1.00 per day for 3 & 7 day items

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps, Music Scores

Do Not Circulate. Copies or scans can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche

Do Not Circulate. Copies or scans can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room or via the Microform Reader-Printers in the 2nd Floor Listening-Viewing Area.

Maximum total items per account:

99 items to include up to 2 viewing media or 10 listening media. 1 course reserve item per class may be checked out at a time.

Maximum charges for circulating items:

$10.00 for overdue books, $25.00 for overdue viewing or listening media, course reserves, and iPad, $10.00 for unfilled course reserve requests, and lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a state-mandated service fee.

How to Check-Out Books

To check out, just bring your items and CSUB ID to the check-out desk!

Collection or Media Type Faculty & Staff Privileges Faculty & Staff
Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

365 day check-out or at separation from campus. 5 renewals for faculty, 0 for staff, 99 item maximum.

No daily overdue charge.

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

30 days, 5 renewals, 5 item maximum

No daily overdue charge.

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

30 days, 5 renewals, 10 item maximum

No daily overdue charge.

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps, Music Scores

 

Do Not Circulate. Copies can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche

Do Not Circulate. Copies can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room or via the Microform Reader-Printers in the 2nd Floor Listening-Viewing Area.

Maximum total items per account:

99 items to include up to 5 viewing media or 10 listening media. 

Maximum charges for circulating items:

Lost items are billed at $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a state-mandated service fee.

How to Check-Out Books

Members of the community may borrow books from the Walter W. Stiern Library by obtaining a Community Card for a fee. An application form can be obtained at the Check Out Desk.

Patron category Annual Fee Limitations

General Public

$50

Cards are mailed to verify address. Privileges will be available in 3 to 5 business days pending carrier service deliveries.

Teachers at regional elementary, junior high, and high schools

$35

Proof of employment is required. Acceptable verification includes, but is not limited to, valid CFA card, school issued ID card, name and department listing on the school website, or letter of appointment.

Regional state-funded Community College students

$25

Referral from community college library and valid college photo ID are required.

Designated high school students

$15

Referral from school library or school official and valid school photo ID are required.

Privileges are limited to designated Honors and AP students.

Members of the Alumni Association of any CSU campus

Members of the 60+ Club

No Fee

Membership cards will be required to issue privileges.

Faculty spouses

Retired CSUB faculty and staff

Other persons associated with CSUB in some recognized capacity

No Fee

Some privileges will require verification and may not be issued until the following business day. Proof of status may include, but is not limited to, notification of retirement from CSUB Human Resources or notification via email or campus memo from faculty spouse.

 

 

Collection or Media Type Community Borrower Privileges Community Borrower
Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

4 weeks, 1 renewal

$0.50 per day per item

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

2 hour in-Library use only, 2 item maximum

$1.00 per hour per item

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

7 days, 2 renewals, 5 item maximum

$1.00 per day per item

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps

Music Scores

Do Not Circulate. Copies can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche (Including ERIC microfiche)

Do Not Circulate. Copies can be made in the 2nd Floor Copy Room or via the Microform Reader-Printers in the 2nd Floor Listening-Viewing Area.

Maximum total items per account:

5 items to include up to 2 viewing media or 5 listening media.

Maximum charges for circulating items:

$20.00 for overdue books, $25.00 for overdue viewing or listening media, and lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a state-mandated service fee.

Loading

Computers and LibraryTechnology

Library Computers

The Library provides computers in the Reference Area (Level 1) to support academic research. There are more computers available on the second floor. Workstation access requires individuals to login with their NetID. Guest accounts are available for two-hour access per day on the reference area level 1 computers.

Remote Access

All current CSUB users have remote access to library databases using their CSUB ID. Library databases are accessible by guest account users in the library but licensing agreements do not provide guest users with remote access.

Guest Account Applications & Access

Guest account applicants must be in junior high or be older and have a photo ID. Photo ID is required at time of guest account application. Only one guest account is allowed per individual. Any fraudulent attempt to apply for multiple accounts, to provide inaccurate application information, or misuse computers outside these restrictions will result in loss of all access to CSUB Library computers and Library facilities. Library personnel have discretion at any time to limit or block guest account usage to insure optimal access for current CSUB users and to enforce CSUB acceptable use policies.

Guests are allowed a maximum of two hours of computer use per day, but current CSUB students, faculty, and staff have first priority in using the workstations. Immediate access may not be available for guest account users. If the network reaches set use levels or CSUB users are waiting, guest users will be logged off or asked to give up their workstations. Guest account access is not guaranteed.

The Walter W. Stiern Library provides access for CSUB students, faculty, and staff to all the resources of the Internet. Guest accounts are available to eligible community users for limited access to the Internet from the computers available in the Library's Reference area on the main floor, Level 1. Guest accounts will be deactivated on or about December 30. The Stiern Library does not screen for content nor does it censor material which is available over the Internet. There may be some types of material on the Internet which may not be appropriate for persons under 18. The viewing of certain materials must be a decision made by parents and their children. All CSUB students, faculty, and staff as well as guest account users must abide by all federal and state laws, Library policies, and CSU/CSUB acceptable use policies. CSU/CSUB policies are available at Information Technology Services.

For security reasons, Network Services has determined that there will be no public access to the wifi network in the Stiern Library. Only registered CSU students and employees may access this wireless network.

*Coming Soon*

Loading

Laptops and iPads

Did you know you can check out laptops and iPads from the library?

iPads and Laptops are available to currently enrolled CSUB students who have a current student ID card and Net ID. Only one iPad or laptop can be checked out at a time for a period of 7days and on a first come, first serve basis. If all items are checked out, you may be put on a waitlist.

Study Rooms

The Walter W. Stiern Library offers Individual and Group Study Rooms for enhanced Library research and study exclusively to the CSUB University community. These rooms are in addition to several hundred open table and carrel study spaces.

Group Study Rooms

The 23 group study rooms in the Stiern Library are for the exclusive use of CSUB students when classes are in session. Group use has priority over individual use and the rooms may not be reserved. The 7 small study rooms on the 3rd floor should be used by no more than 3 students at a time.

Individual Study Rooms

Individual Study Rooms are available to currently registered CSUB Graduate students, Senior level students, and Faculty. Persons requesting a room must demonstrate a need to have access to Library materials to support a research project. When requesting an Individual Study Room, the applicant must submit a brief written description of the project including the expected date of completion.

Contact the Library

Check-out Desk

Call: 661-654-3172

Research Help

Call: 661-654-3231

Reference Desk hours (in-person help on the first floor of the library):

Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm

Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

After hours research help: