Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Post-Election 2016 Resources: Home

Download the resource list

Download the full Post-Election 2016 Resource list

Books

Bonilla-Silva, Eduardo.  2014.  Racism without Racists:  Color-Blind Racism and the Persistence of Racial Inequality in America.  Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield. Title available through the library’s collection.

Chavez, Linda. 1992. Out of the barrio: Toward a new politics of Hispanic assimilationGet this book through the library's collection.

Delgado, Richard and Jean Stefancic. 2012. Critical Race Theory: An Introduction.  Get this book from the library’s collection.

Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne. 2014. An Indigenous People’s History of the United States. Boston: Beacon Press. Available to request through Interlibrary Loan

Gest, Justin.  2016.  The New Minority:  White Working Class Politics in an Age of Immigration and Inequality.  New York: Oxford University Press. This book is available to request through Interlibrary Loan

Hochschild, Arlie Russell. 2016. Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right. New York: The New Press. Request this book through Interlibrary Loan

Putnam, Robert D. 2015.  Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis. New York: Simon & Schuster. Get the book through the library’s collection.

Sabato, Larry J. with Kyle Kondik, and Geoffrey Skelly, eds. 2015.  The Surge:  2014’s Big GOP Win and What it Means for the Next Presidential Election.  Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield. Get the title through the library’s collection.

Shaw, Darron.  2006.  The Race to 270:  The Electoral College and the Campaign Strategies of 2000 and 2004.  Illinois: University of Chicago Press. Available to request via Interlibrary Loan.

Stone, Oliver, and Peter Kuznick. 2013. The Untold History of the United States. New York: Gallery Books. Request through Interlibrary Loan.

Zinn, Howard. 2003. A People's history of the United States : 1492-present. This item is available through the library's collection.

News/Opinion Articles

Couch Robbie.  2016. “During the Dismal Election, Women of Color Quietly Made History in the Senate.” Upworthy.  http://www.upworthy.com/during-this-dismal-election-women-of-color-quietly-made-history-in-the-senate?c=ufb1

Deruy, Emily. 2016. “Donald Trump and the future of education.” The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2016/11/donald-trump-on-education/507167/

Entern, Harry.  2016. “Trump Probably Did Better with Latino Voters than Romney did.”  FiveThirtyEight.  http://fivethirtyeight.com/features/trump-probably-did-better-with-latino-voters-than-romney-did/

Junn, Jane.  2016. “Hiding in Plain Sight: White Women Vote Republican.” Politics of Color. http://politicsofcolor.com/white-women-vote-republican/

Knowles, Eric D. and Linda R. Tropp.  2016. “Donald Trump and the Rise of White Identity Politics.” The Conversation.  http://theconversation.com/donald-trump-and-the-rise-of-white-identity-in-politics-67037

Levinson, Rachel. 2007. “Academic Freedom and the First Amendment.” American Association of University Professors. https://www.aaup.org/our-work/protecting-academic-freedom/academic-freedom-and-first-amendment-2007

Neary, Lynn. 2016. “One Way To Bridge The Political Divide: Read The Book That's Not For You.” NPR. http://www.npr.org/2016/11/14/501975656/one-way-to-bridge-the-political-divide-read-the-book-thats-not-for-you

Sanchez, Claudio.  2016. “Tougher Times for Latino Students? History Says They’ve Never Had it Easy.”  NPR Ed: How Learning Happens. http://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2016/11/15/502011688/tougher-times-for-latino-students-history-says-theyve-never-had-it-easy.

Schultz, Julianne. 2016. “Trump’s win shows how vital the arts and humanities are.” The Conversation. http://theconversation.com/trumps-win-shows-how-vital-the-arts-and-humanities-are-68653

Academic Articles

Bauer, Nichole.  2014. “How Partisans Stereotype Female Candidates: Untangling the Relationship Between Partisanship, Gender Stereotypes, and Support for Female Candidates.” Presentation at the Visions in Methodology Conference, Hamilton, ON, Canada, May 20-22, 2014. http://visionsinmethodology.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Bauer_VIM2014.pdf

Burns, Sarah, Lindsay Eberhardt, and Jennifer Merolla. 2013. “What is the Difference Between a Hockey Mom and a Pit Bull?”  Political Research Quarterly.  66(3):  687-701. http://prq.sagepub.com/content/66/3/687.full.pdf

Delgado, Richard. 1994. "Rodrigo's eighth chronicle: black crime, white fears—on the social construction of threat." Virginia Law Review. 80(2): 503-48. doi:10.2307/1073528. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1073528

Lopez, Ian F. Haney. 1994. "The Social Construction of Race: Some Observations on Illusion, Fabrication, and Choice." 29 Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review. Rev. 1. http://scholarship.law.berkeley.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2815&context=facpubs

McIntosh, Peggy. 1988. "White Privilege and Male Privilege: A Personal Account of Coming To See Correspondences through Work in Women's Studies.” Working Paper 189, Center for Research on Women, Wellesley College, Wellesley, Mass. http://www.ehcounseling.com/materials/WHITE_PRIVILEGE_MALE_04-02-2003.pdf

Wolak, Jennifer. 2015. “Candidate Gender and the Political Engagement of Women and Men.” American Politics Research.  43(5):  872-896. http://apr.sagepub.com/content/43/5/872.full.pdf

Videos

13th. 2016. Directed by Ava Duvernay. Available on Netflix.

A Class Divided. 1986. Directed by William Peters. Available through the library’s collection.

 

The Fog of War: Eleven Lessons from the Life of Robert S. McNamara. Directed by Errol Morris. 2003. https://archive.org/details/TheFogOfWarElevenLessonsFromTheLifeOfRobertS.McnamaraAlso available through the library’s collection.

In Search of History: The Night Tulsa Burned. 1999. The History Channel. https://vimeo.com/91634276

The Night Tulsa Burned from Gary Grossman TV Prod/Novelist on Vimeo.

Kegley Institute of Ethics

Kegley institute event flyer December 2016

Brown Bag Discussion: Election 2016

Brown Bag flyer

Livestream