| Patron category | Annual Fee | Limitations |
|---|---|---|
|
General Public |
$50 |
Cards are mailed to verify address. Privileges will be available in 3 to 5 business days pending carrier service deliveries. |
|
Teachers at regional elementary, junior high, and high schools |
$35 |
Proof of employment is required. Acceptable verification includes, but is not limited to, valid CTA card, school issued ID card, name and department listing on the school website, or letter of appointment. |
|
Regional state-funded Community College students |
$25 |
Referral from community college library and valid college photo ID are required. |
|
Designated high school students |
$15 |
Referral from school library or school official and valid school photo ID are required. Privileges are limited to designated Honors and AP students. |
| Collection or Media Type | Community Borrower Privileges | Community Borrower Fines and Fees |
|---|---|---|
|
Main New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural Bestsellers & Juvenile Government Documents (print & CD) & Software Big Books |
4 weeks, 1 renewal |
$0.50 per day per item |
|
DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs |
2 hour in-Library use only, 2 item maximum. Alumni 7 days, 2 item maximum. |
$1.00 per hour per item |
|
CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs |
7 days, 2 renewals, 5 item maximum |
$1.00 per day per item |
|
Archives & Special Collections |
Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator. |
|
|
Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law Maps Music Scores Laptops & iPads for students only. |
Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor. |
|
|
Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers) Microform & Microfiche (Including ERIC microfiche) |
Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor. |
|
|
Maximum total items per account: |
5 items to include up to 2 viewing media or 5 listening media. |
|
|
Maximum charges for circulating items: |
$20.00 for overdue books, $25.00 for overdue viewing or listening media, and lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a non-refundable state-mandated service fee. |
|
Community Borrowers
Members of the community may borrow books from the Walter W. Stiern Library by obtaining a Community Card for a fee. An application form can be obtained at the Check Out Desk. Applicants must have photo identification showing their current address when requesting a Community Card. The Library accepts cash and check payments only for associated fees. Cards are non-transferable.
Community Borrower Loan Periods, Limits, Fines, and Fees
Community borrowers can check out a maximum of five circulating items with a loan period of four weeks. Library materials may be renewed once, for another four weeks, so long as they have not been requested by another borrower. Library materials are subject to recall after two weeks. Listening and viewing media may be renewed online or in-person for either 2 hours or 7 days depending on the media type; see chart above
Recalls, Holds, and Other Library Privileges
If a recall request has been placed on a book by CSUB faculty, staff or student, it is subject to immediate recall and can not be renewed. Community Borrowers are not eligible for database, resource Sharing, or reserve check out privileges. Community Borrowers are also ineligible for hold or recall privileges.
Fines, Fees, and Card Renewals
Overdue fines accrue regardless of whether or not the cardholder receives courtesy or overdue notices. Library privileges will be suspended when the borrower has three overdue books and/or $25.00 in fines. Community Borrower cards will not be renewed for patrons with unpaid fines or unreturned materials. The University routinely refers unpaid obligations to collections and/or the State Franchise Tax Board. If an account is sent to a collection agency or litigated, the patron may be required to pay additional costs of collection. For more details regarding community borrowing privileges, fines and fees please visit this website: http://csub.libguides.com/library/borrowing