Library Home: Modern Languages and Literatures: Articles and Databases

Links to research tutorials

Streaming Video Databases

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre+ is used to encourage home research, flip the classroom, and even for rural access to the arts.
COVID-19 response complimentary access until April 20, 2020.
Use login credentials:
Username: csub
Password: csub222
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Browse the full collection of streaming videos.
Not seeing what you are looking for? Contact your Librarian!
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window America Latina en Video / América Latina em Vídeo / Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.

Databases for Modern Languages

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Subject content includes: Area and Ethnic Studies, Art and Architecture, Creative Writing, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, History, Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Medicine and Health, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Science, Technology, and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Studies by Time Period, Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality.

Additional Literary Sources

Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions. This literary connection, combined with the tales of survival, exile, resistance, endurance, and emigration to other parts of the Americas, makes for a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window What we call "Latin American culture" is a composite of the rich and diverse output of 20 sovereign countries. This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history

Search Strategies for Modern Languages

Search strategies for locating materials on the peoples, countries, and cultures of Latin America, Hispanoamerica, Latinx, Spanish speaking countries, etc.:

Hispanic OR Hispanoameric* OR "Latin American" OR Latinx

Sample search for Latin American literature or culture in OneSearch

Using "Spanish speaking" will retrieve a lot of information on working with Spanish speakers in various industries, like healthcare or education, but it rarely reflects "Spanish speaking countries" in the databases we use for our research. If you are looking specifically at Spanish speaking countries, it is more productive to search for a group of the individual countries:

List of Latin American and Carribean Countries

Modern Languages and Literatures: Articles and Databases

Links to research tutorials

Streaming Video Databases

Databases for Modern Languages

Additional Literary Sources

Search Strategies for Modern Languages

Research Tutorial for Modern Languages and Literatures