Library Home: Using EBSCOhost Guide: About EBSCOhost

About EBSCOhost

What is EBSCOhost?

EBSCOhost is an online research platform that helps researchers find quality information. Users are able to search up to 53 databases at once from varied disciplines. Resources within this comprehensive platform include articles, books, proceedings, reports, books, and more.

EBSCOhost is moving to a new user interface (UI)!

On May 27, 2025, CSUB will begin using EBSCO's new interface. The new UI includes:

A clean, simplified look
Auto keyword suggestions
Permalinks bookmarked directly from the browser address
Multiple options for sharing and saving resources
Text-to-speech and translation options for html resources

Click here for an introductory video about the new UI.

New UI Database List

The following is a list of EBSCO databases that will have a new interface design:

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete offers full-text journals and includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of subject areas for academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
America: History and Life America: History and Life covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Abstracts and indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present, citations and links to books and media reviews, and coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries of special interest to historians of United States and Canadian history.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820) EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
The American Antiquarian Society’s collection of rare periodicals spanning 1691-1902 presents primary source materials for historical research on advertising, agriculture, business, history, journalism, literature, women’s studies and provides access to published letters, first person narratives and memoirs, transcripts from speeches and more.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837) EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1821 to 1837 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852) EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
The American Antiquarian Society’s collection of rare periodicals spanning 1691-1902 presents primary source materials for historical research on advertising, agriculture, business, history, journalism, literature, women’s studies and provides access to published letters, first person narratives and memoirs, transcripts from speeches and more.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865) EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1853 to 1865 focuses on the Civil War and a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912) EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1866 to 1912 reflects a nation that persevered through a difficult set of circumstances and provides overage of broad subject areas that reach into every facet of American life.
PsycARTICLES Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field of psychology, from cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
PsycINFO Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences with coverage from the 17th century to the present, charting the evolution of psychology over time through peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations.
Business Abstracts with Full Text Full text access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, and conferences.
Business Source Premier The industry's most widely used business research database, this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Accounting, Finance, Economics, Marketing, Management, Management information systems, Operations management.
CINAHL Ultimate CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for Nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database – with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Communication Source Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts and offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Full-text database for peer-reviewed criminal justice research, as well as, relevant content for psychology and sociology.
Journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology including: Corrections and prisons, Criminal investigations, Forensic sciences and investigation, Substance abuse and addiction, Probation and parole.
Ebony Magazine Archive Ebony is one of the key Afro-American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Their editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) Fiction and nonfiction eBooks on a variety of subjects.
Subject content includes:
Children's & Young Adult Fiction
Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction
Arts & Architecture
Biographies & Memoirs
Body, Mind & Spirit
Business & Economics
Computer Science
Cooking
Crafts & Collectibles
Education
Engineering & Technology
Fiction
Health & Medicine
History
Home & Garden
Humor
Law
Literature & Criticism
Mathematics
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Reference
Religion
Sciences
Self-Help & Family
Social Sciences
Sports & Games
Study Aids & Language Learning
Travel
True Crime

eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Subscription Diversity & Ethnic Studies (EBSCOhost)

EconLit Index for economic and business research citations and abstracts dating back to 1886.
Subject coverage includes: Capital markets, Country studies, Econometrics, Economic forecasting, Environmental economics, Government regulations, Labor economics, Monetary theory, Urban economics.
Education Full Text Covers key areas of education and related fields of study, full-text coverage dating back to 1980 and indexing dating back to 1969.
Subject coverage includes: Adult education, Continuing education, Literacy standards, Multicultural/ethnic education, School administration, Teacher evaluation, Teaching methods
Education Research Complete Covers scholarly research relating to all areas of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and also provides an education-specific thesaurus.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Exploring Race in Society
Fuente Académica Plus Full-text Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, covering all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia General reference and brief information on a variety of subjects and topics.
General Science Full Text Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology with graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
Biology & Life Sciences, Technology & Engineering
GreenFILE Scholarly, government and general-interest sources investigating connections between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology as well as covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Subject content includes: Global climate change; Green building; Pollution; Sustainable agriculture; Renewable energy; Recycling.
Historical Abstracts Bibliographic database covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present.
Humanities Full Text Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Humanities Full Text covers all key fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Jet Magazine Archive JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Information science database providing indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, research reports and conference proceedings with coverage dating back to 1975.
Subject content includes: Bibliometrics, Cataloging, Classification, Electronic publishing, Information management, Online information retrieval, Printed and electronic information, Search engines, Scholarly communication, The information industry.

MAS Reference eBook Collection
MAS Ultra - School Edition

MathSciNet MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides web access to bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print (TIP) Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments with full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership, as well as, a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. A score index permits users to identify what is measured by each test. TIP provides vital information about tests including test purpose, intended test population, administration times, scores generated, price, test publisher, in-print status, test acronym, publication dates and test authors.

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Reference eBook Collection

Military & Government Collection Scholarly literature and current news pertaining to all branches of the United States military and government.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

MLA International Bibliography Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Multidisciplinary full-text database including a wealth of essential material for learning, detailed research and casual reading.
Subject coverage includes several core subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology as well as topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies and history.
Philosopher's Index Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Subject content includes: Aesthetics, Axiology, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic, Meta-philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophical anthropology, Philosophy of education, Philosophy of history, Philosophy of language, Philosophy of religion, Philosophy of science, Political philosophy, Social philosophy.

Primary Search
Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
Regional Business News

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this extensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts and subject indexing with content covering traditional music, popular music and classical music.
Subject content includes: Composition, Dramatic arts, Dance studies, Ethnomusicology, Jazz studies, Musicology, Music analysis, Music iconography, Music librarianship, Music pedagogy, Music perception, Music therapy, Organology, Performance practice, Popular music studies.
Social Sciences Full Text Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences and provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Subjects Include: Addiction studies; Anthropology; Communications; Economics; Ethics; Family studies; Gender studies; International relations; Law; Mass media; Minority studies; Political science; Psychology; Public welfare; Social work; Urban studies.
SocINDEX SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Subjects Include: Criminology; Criminal justice; Demography; Ethnic and racial studies; Gender studies; Marriage and family; Political sociology; Religion; Rural and urban sociology; Social development; Social psychology; Social structure; Social work; Socio-cultural anthropology; Sociological history; Sociological research; Sociological theory; Substance abuse; Violence
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content for health professionals, researchers and students, with coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Subjects Include:
Clinical specialties such as orthopedics
Coaching and education
Consumer health
Exercise science and fitness
Health education
Kinesiology
Nutrition
Occupational health and safety
Physical education
Physical therapy
Sports sciences