Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Walter W. Stiern Library: Borrowing and Access

How to Check-Out Books

How to Request Items for Locker Pickup:

1. Find your item in OneSearch. Make sure that you are signed in. 

2. Under "Request Options" select "WSL Lockers".

3. You will receive an email when your requested item(s) are ready for pickup. 

4. Once you receive the pickup email, you can retrieve your materials from the library lockers located near the 24/7 study room on the Library's first floor using one of the following options: 

  • Scan the included QR code at the kiosk. 
  • Enter your access code on the screen provided. 
  • Download the Luxer One app

5. Items will be held in the WSL lockers for 3 days. You will receive a notification when your item is removed from the locker and no longer available for pickup. 

Note: The campus is currently in virtual delivery and limiting the number of individuals on campus. It is required that you complete the CSUB COVID Screening Evaluation on the day of your appointment.

LOCKER LOCATION: Walter Stiern Library, Lower Level West Entrance (near the 24 Hour Room). Lockers available: 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

How to Request Items for USPS Delivery:

1. Find your item in OneSearch. Make sure that you are signed in. 

2. Under "Request Options" select "Request for Mail Delivery".

3. Select "Home Address" for your pickup location. Enter your home address into the box below.  

4. Requests will be mailed to the address entered. Please allow 2-4 weeks for processing and delivery. 

 

CSUB students and students of other CSUs who are currently enrolled in classes may check out materials at the Walter Stiern Library. CSUB students must have their CSUB ID cards for all transactions. CSU students must have their current CSU campus ID to qualify for checkout privileges.

Collection or Media Type Student Privileges Late Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

16 weeks, no renewals

No late fines. Lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a non-refundable state-mandated service fee of $15. 

iPads,Laptops & Chargers (student check-out only)

Due September 6, 2021. 

$5.00 per day, per item

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

30 days, 2 item maximum

 

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

30 days, 2 renewals, 10 item maximum

 

Course Reserves

Fall 2021- Available for 2 hour, 24 hour, 3 day, and 7 day periods. Loan periods vary by item. 

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps, Music Scores

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on Level 2.

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on Level 2.

Maximum total items per account:

99 items to include up to 2 viewing media or 10 listening media. 1 course reserve item per class may be checked out at a time.

Maximum charges for circulating items:

$25.00 for overdue viewing or listening media, course reserves, and iPad/laptops. Lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a non-refundable state-mandated service fee of $15, $10 of ipdad/laptops. 

How to Check-Out Books

How to Request Items for Locker Pickup:

1. Find your item in OneSearch. Make sure that you are signed in. 

2. Under "Request Options" select "WSL Lockers".

3. You will receive an email when your requested item(s) are ready for pickup. 

4. Once you receive the pickup email, you can retrieve your materials from the library lockers located near the 24/7 study room on the Library's first floor using one of the following options: 

  • Scan the included QR code at the kiosk. 
  • Enter your access code on the screen provided. 
  • Download the Luxer One app

5. Items will be held in the WSL lockers for 3 days. You will receive a notification when your item is removed from the locker and no longer available for pickup. 

Note: The campus is currently in virtual delivery and limiting the number of individuals on campus. It is required that you complete the CSUB COVID Screening Evaluation on the day of your appointment.

LOCKER LOCATION: Walter Stiern Library, Lower Level West Entrance (near the 24 Hour Room). Lockers available: 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

How to Request Items for USPS Delivery:

1. Find your item in OneSearch. Make sure that you are signed in. 

2. Under "Request Options" select "Request for Mail Delivery".

3. Select "Home Address" for your pickup location. Enter your home address into the box below.  

4. Requests will be mailed to the address entered. Please allow 2-4 weeks for processing and delivery. 

Collection or Media Type Faculty & Staff Privileges Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

365 day check-out or at separation from campus. 5 renewals for faculty, 0 for staff, 99 item maximum.

No daily overdue charge.

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

30 days, 5 renewals, 5 item maximum

No daily overdue charge.

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

30 days, 5 renewals, 10 item maximum

No daily overdue charge.

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps, Music Scores. Laptops & iPads for students only.

 

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor.

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor.

Maximum total items per account:

99 items to include up to 5 viewing media or 10 listening media. 

Maximum charges for circulating items:

Lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a non-refundable state-mandated service fee of $15. 

How to Check-Out Books

Members of the community may borrow books from the Walter W. Stiern Library by obtaining a Community Card for a fee. An application form can be obtained at the Check Out Desk. Community & Alumni users may access computers, printers, databases, and open study areas while in the building with CSUB students having priority. 

Patron category Annual Fee Limitations

General Public

$50

Cards are mailed to verify address. Privileges will be available in 3 to 5 business days pending carrier service deliveries.

Teachers at regional elementary, junior high, and high schools

$35

Proof of employment is required. Acceptable verification includes, but is not limited to, valid CFA card, school issued ID card, name and department listing on the school website, or letter of appointment.

Regional state-funded Community College students

$25

Referral from community college library and valid college photo ID are required.

Designated high school students

$15

Referral from school library or school official and valid school photo ID are required.

Privileges are limited to designated Honors and AP students.

Members of the Alumni Association of any CSU campus

Members of the 60+ Club

No Fee

Membership cards will be required to issue privileges.

Faculty spouses

Retired CSUB faculty and staff

Other persons associated with CSUB in some recognized capacity

No Fee

Some privileges will require verification and may not be issued until the following business day. Proof of status may include, but is not limited to, notification of retirement from CSUB Human Resources or notification via email or campus memo from faculty spouse.

 

 

Collection or Media Type Community Borrower Privileges Community Borrower
Fines and Fees

Main

New Books, First Year Experience, Cerro Cal, & Multicultural

Bestsellers & Juvenile

Government Documents (print & CD) & Software

Big Books

4 weeks, 1 renewal

$0.50 per day per item

DVDS, Videos, & Laser Discs

2 hour in-Library use only, 2 item maximum. Alumni 7 days, 2 item maximum.

$1.00 per hour per item

CDs, Audio Cassettes, & LPs

7 days, 2 renewals, 5 item maximum

$1.00 per day per item

Archives & Special Collections

Do Not Circulate. In-Library use may be arranged by appointment with the Archives or Reference Services Coordinator.

Reference, Indicies, Atlases, & Law

Maps

Music Scores 

Laptops & iPads for students only.

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor.

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines & Newspapers)

Microform & Microfiche (Including ERIC microfiche)

Do Not Circulate. Copiers, scanners and Microform Reader-Printers are available on the 2nd floor.

Maximum total items per account:

5 items to include up to 2 viewing media or 5 listening media.

Maximum charges for circulating items:

$20.00 for overdue books, $25.00 for overdue viewing or listening media, and lost items are billed at the greater of $60.00 or the cost of replacement plus a non-refundable state-mandated service fee.

Borrowing Laptops and iPads

Library laptops and iPads are currently unavailable for checkout. Laptops are still available through the ITS Service Center. You can contact the Service Center using one of the three options below: 

Contact the Library

Check-out Desk

Call: 661-654-3172

Research Help