| Subclass N | Visual Arts |
|---|---|
| Subclass NA | Architecture |
| Subclass NB | Sculpture |
| Subclass NC | Drawing, design, illustration |
| Subclass ND | Painting |
| Subclass NE | Print media |
| Subclass NK | Decorative arts |
| Subclass NX | Arts in general |
| Subclass TR | Photography, cinematography, motion pictures |
The Art Book by
An A to Z guide to 500 great painters and sculptors from medieval to modern times. Each artist is represented by a full-page color plate of a typical work, accompanied by explanatory and illuminating information on each image and its creator. The entries are comprehensively cross-referenced and glossaries of artistic movements and technical terms are included, together with an international directory of galleries and museums to visit.
The British Museum Encyclopedia of Native North America by
"This encyclopedia explores American Indian history from a Native perspective, through alphabetical entries on events, issues, contemporary and historical art, mythology, gender roles, economics, contact between Indians and Europeans, political sovereignty and self-determination, land and environment."
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art by
This comprehensive reference text covers the often misunderstood area of aesthetics, anthropology and mythology within tribal or indigenous non-Western art. Including hundreds of entries and illustrations, it includes art from the cultures and tribal kingdoms of: Nigeria, Australia, Indonesia and Polynesia, Western and Central Africa, Canada and Alaska, and the continental United States.
A Dictionary of Art Titles by
"Open A Dictionary of Art Titles, and the world of art opens up for you. Noted name authority Adrian Room offers explanations of 3,000 titles from Abbey Under Oak Trees to Zygotic acceleration, biogenetic, desublimated libidinal model (enlarged x 1000), along with the artists' names, English translations where necessary, dates of creation, and present locations. An index and bibliography are also included."
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art by 
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology by
Volume 1. A-J -- volume 2. K-Z -- volume 3. Plates and color maps.
More than 400 distinguished scholars, including archaeologists, art historians, historians, epigraphers, and theologians, have written the 1,455 entries in this monumental encyclopedia—the first comprehensive reference work of its kind.
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by
"Written by 92 specialists in association with the American Folk Art Museum, the 600 cross-referenced and indexed articles, with bibliographies, included in this selection are the first comprehensive treatment of this influential art form. It includes information on bottle-cap art, canes, carousel art, scrimshaw, quilts, beadwork, and many other genres, as well as information on several visionary artists who still practice their crafts. This work has special appeal for folklorists."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by
This book has over 2500 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the 20th century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media. There is a strong emphasis on location as a focus for art; not only are there regional and cultural surveys, but also entries on specific places of importance such as Urbino or Nancy.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by
Identifies movements, schools, groups, styles, and artists, defines terms, concepts, and critical theories, and explains basic art techniques.
The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by
This comprehensive treatise, featuring the history and historical processes of photography, contemporary applications, and the new and evolving digital technologies, will provide the most accurate technical synopsis of the current, as well as early worlds of photography ever compiled. This Encyclopedia, produced by a team of world renown practicing experts, shares in highly detailed descriptions, the core concepts and facts relative to anything photographic. This Fourth edition of the Focal Encyclopedia serves as the definitive reference for students and practitioners of photography worldwide...
Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture by
The Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture provides an overview of Neoclassicism, focusing on its major artists, architects, stylistic subcategories, ideas, and historical framework of the 18th century style found mainly in Europe and the United States. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 200 dictionary entries on famous artists, sculptors, architects, patrons, and other historical figures and events.
Universal Principles of Art: 100 Key Concepts for Understanding, Analyzing, and Practicing Art by 
