Chicago Citation Style 17th ed.: Chicago Notes-Bibliography

The Notes and Bibliography Chicago-style citation system is primarily used in the Humanities - literature, history, and the arts. It employs footnotes or endnotes to cite and explain sources, and includes an additional bibliography at the end of the document. You can use the Chicago Manual of Style's Notes and Bibliography Quick Guide to get started on citing with this system.

Elements of the Notes and Bibliography system:

Bibliography

A separate bibliography is included at the end of a publication. In bibliography citations, the author's last name comes first. Citations are punctuated by periods instead of commas and the full page range is cited. The bibliography itself is alphabetically sorted by authors' last name.

Note

The footnote function is used to cite sources directly in the publication. The footnote citation begins with the author's first name. A full note uses replaces periods from the bibliographic citation with commas, and only the singular page number containing the information cited is used.

Shortened Note

Includes only the author's last name, a shorted version of the title (1-3 words usually), and the singular page number of the citation. The shortened note is used to reduce the bulk of a paper or publication and is used in the place of a note.

Remember to use "Ibid" for identical note citations used multiple times in a row.

For additional paper formatting information, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style. Additionally, the Purdue OWL NB Sample Paper is also a helpful resource.