SAGE Journals - peer-reviewed journal content, including journals published on behalf of 400 societies
Sociological Abstracts - indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
California Legislative Information - this database has features like the quick bill search, quick code search, and provides users with information on California law, bill information, and legislative publications.
Criminal Justice Abstracts With Full Text - the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)- is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service - provides access to recent publications, online resources, and upcoming events.
Call 661-654-3172 to reach the Check Out Desk and staff Monday - Thursday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Limited hours Friday to Sunday.
Chat 24/7
Please enter your name, email address, and question here or by clicking on any of the "Chat with a Librarian" buttons on the Library's website.
By Email
Send an email to csub@calstate.libanswers.com or visit your librarian's web page.
Choose an interesting topic. Select a topic that you're interested in or curious to learn more about. Note that it is best to start broadly with your research.
Gather background information. Chances are you won't know your research question straight away. Start by researching broadly about a topic and review what research and literature exist. You may discover information that targets your research to something different than you had initially intended!
Audience. Keep in mind the audience you will be writing for. Is this a Policy Brief for a policymaker? A persuasive essay for your professor? For coursework and research writing your audience will typically be academic. Be sure to consult your assignment criteria or professor for clarification, if needed.
Ask Questions. To help narrow your focus from a general topic to a research question ask yourself open-ended "how" and "why" questions. Ultimately you will want to narrow from that broad topic to a more specific inquiry.
Evaluate Your Question. After brainstorming your research question, or a couple of alternatives, evaluate them by asking yourself some follow-up questions such as:
Is my research question clear? Having a clear research question will help you direct your research.
Is my research question complex? A strong research question should require research and analysis.
*Information adapted from George Mason University Writing Center.
While the research process may feel daunting, it doesn't need to be! This helpful video tutorial, created by a CSUB librarian, outlines the beginnings of the research process, from pre-research, to outlining, to writing.
Additionally, you will need to develop your research focus, narrow your topic to something more specific, and ultimately declare your thesis statement, which will help guide and structure the argument you will make within your research paper.
Johns Hopkins Writing Resources - provides researchers with resources for developing a topic or research question.
Indiana University Libraries - this PDF composed by Indiana University Libraries provides information on narrowing a topic, forming a research question from a topic, and sample research questions.
Columbia College Chicago - provides information on the TQS or Topic + Question + Significance format of developing a research question.
TIP! Entering a Google-type search into library research databases often retrieves irrelevant results.To search like a pro, watch these tutorials on search strategies. Would you like individual assistance? Feel free to contact your librarian by making an appointment or calling.
