Library Home: Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership: Articles & Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases for Your Research

Education Research Complete Covers scholarly research relating to all areas of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Full Text Covers key areas of education and related fields of study, full-text coverage dating back to 1980 and indexing dating back to 1969.
Subject coverage includes: Adult education, Continuing education, Literacy standards, Multicultural/ethnic education, School administration, Teacher evaluation, Teaching methods
ERIC Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and also provides an education-specific thesaurus.
PsycINFO Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences with coverage from the 17th century to the present, charting the evolution of psychology over time through peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations.
PsycARTICLES Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field of psychology, from cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
SocINDEX SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Subjects Include: Criminology; Criminal justice; Demography; Ethnic and racial studies; Gender studies; Marriage and family; Political sociology; Religion; Rural and urban sociology; Social development; Social psychology; Social structure; Social work; Socio-cultural anthropology; Sociological history; Sociological research; Sociological theory; Substance abuse; Violence
Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations as well as citations to book reviews.
PubMed A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Westlaw Online legal research service with a comprehensive collection of legal information including the current version of the law with proprietary editorial enhancements.
Includes: Cases, Statutes and regulations, Secondary sources, Practice areas, News, Briefs, Trial court documents, Public records.
Dissertations & Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Access to an extensive and expanding global archive of dissertations and theses which has been designated as an offsite digital repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage from North American universities.

Search Tips

1. Create a Research statement

This can be in the form of a question or a sentence. Just think about what you want to research and write it down in one sentence.

Highlight keywords in research statement

2. Identify the Keywords

Look at your research statement. What are the main words or concepts? They will likely be nouns, and can include phrases. Highlight them.

3. Think of synonyms

Look at the words/phrases you highlighted and think of synonyms or alternate phrases to describe those concepts. Scholarly articles often use words that we wouldn’t use in ordinary life.

Searching in EBSCO- use each search box for each concept

4. Search in the databases

Pick two or three words/phrases from your list. Put each concept in its own search box.

Another search strategy alternative using other synonyms

5. Search again!

Try different combinations of words to get different results. Add more words to narrow down your results. Look at the “Subject” headings for each article to see what keywords are being used the most.