Library Home: English: Books

Works of Literature Available in Full-Text Online

American Fiction, 1774-1920 American Fiction, 1774–1920 contains more than 17,800 titles and is comprised of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. It gathers extensive content in one place and allows researchers to explore the development of American literature in a changing culture through novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, and sketches.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
Black Drama: Third Edition This link opens in a new window Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new window Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions. This literary connection, combined with the tales of survival, exile, resistance, endurance, and emigration to other parts of the Americas, makes for a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history
North American Indian Drama: Second Edition This link opens in a new window North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.

Reference Books

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
ISBN: 9780198715443
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
The Literary Theory Handbook by Gregory Castle
ISBN: 1118331583
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
Literary Theory by Julie Rivkin (Editor); Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 1118718313
Publication Date: 2017-01-25

Browse by Call Number

Linguistics:

General: P 1 - 1091
English: PE 1 - 3729
Old English: PE 101 - 458
Middle English: PE 501 - 693

General Literature Resources:

Folklore: GR
Classical Literature: PA
Literary Theory and Criticism: PN 45 - 99
Literary History: PN 441 - 1009.5

Works of literature are sorted by geographic location, then time period, then individual author. For instance, the works of Edgar Allan Poe will be shelved under "American Literature", then under the period in which he wrote (1809-1849), and finally under his last name: PS2606.

American Literature:

Works about Literary Periods: PS 185 - 231
Works about Regional Literature: PS 241 - 286
Colonial (17th and 18th centuries): PS 700 - 893
19th Century: PS 991 - 3390
1900-1960: PS 3500 - 3549
1961-2000: PS 3550 - 3576
2001 onward: PS 3600 - 3626

British Literature:

Literary History and Criticism: PR 1 - 78
Collections of Literature: PR 1098 - 1369
Anglo-Saxon: PR 1490 - 1799
Anglo-Norman - Middle English: PR 1803 - 2165
English Renaissance (1500-1640): PR 2199 - 3195
17th and 18th Centuries (1640-1770): PR 3291 - 3785
19th Century (1770-1900): PR 3991 - 5990
1900-1960: PR 6000 - 6049
1961-2000: PR 6050 - 6076
2001 onward: PR 6100 - 6126

Ethnic Literature:

African-American, Asian American, Latino or Latin-American, and Indigenous or Native American literature is classified within American Literature in the PS section.

Middle Eastern and Northern African Literature (classified as "Oriental" and "Indo-Iranian" by the Library of Congress): PJ & PK

Asian, African, and Oceanic Literature: PL

Italian, French, Spanish, and Portuguese Literature: PQ

Germanic Literature (including Scandinavian): PT

Juvenile Literature:

Literary History: PN 1008.2 - 1009.5
in American Literature: PS 490
Works: PZ section; currently shelved on the 2nd floor as the Juvenile Collection

Adapted from the Library of Congress Classification system, January 13, 2017; revised September 22, 2022.