Library Home: English Research Guide: Articles and Databases

Databases for Researching Criticism and Book Reviews

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Subject content includes: Area and Ethnic Studies, Art and Architecture, Creative Writing, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, History, Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Medicine and Health, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Science, Technology, and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Studies by Time Period, Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality.

Databases for Researching Historical and Biographical Background Information

Contemporary Authors Online This link opens in a new window Discover biographical details on approximately 116,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters, as well as, the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, and authors from around the world. Included are author-provided updates, expanded entries, bibliographies, awards, and recent update information.
Contemporary Authors provides comprehensive information on authors from all genres. The following elements may be included in a Contemporary Authors sketch: author’s name; contents; genre; personal information such as the author’s date and place of birth (city, state, and/or country) and family data, including parents, spouse(s) and child(ren); photographs; autobiographical essays; pseudonym; nationality; ethnicity; education; political preference; religion; avocational interests; addresses; career summary; memberships; awards and honors; obituary notice; links to recent news about the author; Contemporary Authors interviews; and biographical and critical sources.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window Historical dictionary of the English language including the development of words from the earliest times to the present including authoritative definitions, detailed information on pronunciation, variant spellings throughout each word's history, extensive treatment of etymology, and details of area of usage and of any regional characteristics (including geographical origins).
Accompanying each definition is a chronologically arranged group of quotations that illustrate the evolution of meaning from the word's first recorded usage and show the contexts in which it can be used.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Covering today's hottest social issues, explore all possible sides and relevant perspectives.
Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, and infographics. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science with featured content from The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week.

Streaming Video Databases

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre+ is used to encourage home research, flip the classroom, and even for rural access to the arts.
COVID-19 response complimentary access until April 20, 2020.
Use login credentials:
Username: csub
Password: csub222
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Browse the full collection of streaming videos.
Not seeing what you are looking for? Contact your Librarian!
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window America Latina en Video / América Latina em Vídeo / Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.