Skip to Main Content

Social Work Research Guide

Searching in Databases

  1. Create a Research statement
    1. This can be in the form of a question or a sentence. Just think about what you want to research and write it down in one sentence.
  2. Identify the keywords
    1. Look at your research statement. What are the main words or concepts? They will likely be nouns, and can include phrases. Highlight them.
  3. Think of synonyms
    1. Look at the words/phrases you highlighted and think of synonyms or alternate phrases to describe those concepts. Scholarly articles often use words that we wouldn’t use in ordinary life.
  4. Search in databases
    1. Pick two or three words/phrases from your list. Put each concept in its own search box.
  5. Repeat
    1. Try different combinations of words to get different results. Add more words to narrow down your results. Look at the “Subject” headings for each article to see what keywords are being used the most.

Finding Articles

Example research statement

1. Create a Research statement

This can be in the form of a question or a sentence. Just think about what you want to research and write it down in one sentence.

Highlight keywords in research statement

2. Identify the Keywords

Look at your research statement. What are the main words or concepts? They will likely be nouns, and can include phrases. Highlight them.

List of synonyms for keywords

3. Think of synonyms

Look at the words/phrases you highlighted and think of synonyms or alternate phrases to describe those concepts. Scholarly articles often use words that we wouldn’t use in ordinary life.

Searching in EBSCO- use each search box for each concept

4. Search in the databases

Pick two or three words/phrases from your list. Put each concept in its own search box.

Another search strategy alternative using other synonyms

5. Search again!

Try different combinations of words to get different results. Add more words to narrow down your results. Look at the “Subject” headings for each article to see what keywords are being used the most.

Searching Multiple EBSCO Databases

Searching multiple databases in EBSCO; use "Choose Databases"

Always click on "Choose Databases" and add any relevant databases to your search. This will allow you to find more articles on your topic.

  • Select "Peer-Reviewed" to limit to only Scholarly articles.
  • Move the "Select a Field" option to "Title" or "Subject" to find more relevant results.
  • Use AND to connect concepts and search together.
  • Use OR to find synonyms. You can't always be sure what word an author will use, so try a variety of synonyms to make sure you cover your bases.

Social Work Databases

Academic Search Complete - includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,136 active global OA journals. 

Social Sciences Full Text - provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.

Social Services Abstracts - an index of scholarship and research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Sociological Abstracts - indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Psychology Databases

APA PsychArticles -  A comprehensive and essential database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the APA Journals™ and affiliated journals.

APA PsychInfo - The premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology.

Education Databases

Education Research Complete - is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers.

ERIC - an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Adobe Reader | Microsoft Viewers