Census.gov - provides access to 2020 Census results, 2022 Economic Census, Data Tools and Applications, as well as the QuickFacts tool for demographic statistics.
State StatisticsThis link opens in a new windowState Statistics contains nearly 300 databases, including 150 active databases covering critical social science statistics. Explore demographics, health, education, income, security, military, economics, and more for the U.S., states, and counties. A growing number of databases provide data for cities, ZIP Codes, and Census Tracts.
RAND's research on California and its communities spans a wide analytical range, from health, education, and justice issues to military, security, and transportation.
California
California Health Interview Statistics (CHIS) - also known as CHIS or the California Health Survey - is a leading source of credible and comprehensive data on the health and health care needs of California’s large and diverse population. Each year, CHIS interviews more than 20,000 households on a wide range of health matters, from use of and access to health care, to health conditions and behaviors, to a range of topics that influence health: public program participation, housing, income and employment, climate change, food, gun violence, adverse childhood experiences, and much more.
State StatisticsThis link opens in a new windowState Statistics contains nearly 300 databases, including 150 active databases covering critical social science statistics. Explore demographics, health, education, income, security, military, economics, and more for the U.S., states, and counties. A growing number of databases provide data for cities, ZIP Codes, and Census Tracts.
RAND's research on California and its communities spans a wide analytical range, from health, education, and justice issues to military, security, and transportation.
International Statistics
CountryWatch - is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
UNdata - s a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
This is the first report to look specifically at the quality of life for women and girls in Kern County, California. It includes the most current information available from a variety of sources.
New report from the Brookings Institutions that includes a section on Kern County. Shelved in the Stiern Library Main Collection: Level 3 Call Number: HV95 .K57 2013 or through Online Access.
The Bakersfield-Kern Regional Homelessness Collaborative (BKRHC) conducts a full Homeless Census (Point-in-Time count) of sheltered and unsheltered homeless persons throughout Kern County every year.
Links to websites related to children/families residing in Kern County.
National and Regional Statistics
Census Bureau Data - Provides access to census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. Search by state, county city, town, and zip code.
General Social Survey (GSS) - The GSS contains a standard ‘core’ of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource.
Kids Count Data Center - Includes hundreds of measures of child well-being. For Kern County statistics see Kern County Report Card on Children.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) - Annual national survey providing up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics - The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics. The PSID is directed by faculty at the University of Michigan, and the data are available on this website without cost to researchers and analysts.
Pew Research Center - Includes statistics and data covering politics, media, social trends, internet, religion, Hispanics, and global issues.
Policy Archive - is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents. Join today and upload your own research and customize your user experience.
Social Work Policy Institute (SWPI) - is a think tank established within the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Foundation. It examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.
California Department of Social Services (CDSS), Office of Regulations Development (ORD) - The Department's regulations are divided in two groups, the Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP), which include all the social service programs regulations, and the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, Divisions 2, 6, and 12, which include the Adoptions Program Regulations and the Community Care Licensing Regulations.
WestlawThis link opens in a new windowOnline legal research service with a comprehensive collection of legal information including the current version of the law with proprietary editorial enhancements.
Includes: Cases, Statutes and regulations, Secondary sources, Practice areas, News, Briefs, Trial court documents, Public records.
Think Tanks, Research Centers, and Policy Organizations
Center for American Progress - is an independent, nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help consumers, healthcare professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
The Brookings Institution - is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
Cato Institute - is a public policy research organization—or think tank—that creates a presence for and promotes libertarian ideas in policy debates.
