History: American History

• American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology - Text of interviews with former slaves. Interviews were conducted by writers for the Works Progress Administration in the 1930s. 
• Atlas of Historical County Boundaries: This only geographical tool includes data on every county in the United States from 1634 through 2000, including changes in boundary and name. 
• Dust Bowl Migration Digital Archives: Interviews with Dust Bowl migrants to Kern County. 
• FBI Electronic Vault: Declassified and frequently requested FBI files on famous people or events. 
• Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Collection of source materials compiled by Fordham University. 
• Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive: Scholarship about papers of Thomas Jefferson.
• Making of America: Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Provides full-text access to monograph volumes and important 19th century journals. (University of Michigan)
• Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project: Papers of slain civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr. at Stanford University. 
• Meeting of Frontiers: Library of Congress website on American exploration of the West and the meeting of frontiers in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest. Access to digitized research collections. 
• Papers of Abraham Lincoln: From the Library of Congress.
• Presidential LIbraries: National Archives and Records Administration links to all twelve presidential libraries. 
• Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts: U.S. Census Bureau - Historical statistics compiled by the United States government from colonial times to present.
• Women Working 1870-1930: Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections. 

The Historical Research Center in the Walter W. Stiern Library holds a small collection of books that are fragile or rare, University history documents and photographs, as well as a number of materials covering the political and social history of the southern San Joaquin Valley. You can access the Historical Research Center website at http://hrc.csub.edu 

• American Antiquarian Society: National research library of American history, literature, and culture. It covers Colonial and U.S. history through 1876. 
• National Archives: Includes the Research Room, selected topics, and finding aids.
• National Security Archives: George Washington University - Critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, and diplomatic and military history. 
• Online Archive of California: Historical materials from California institutions. 
• UNESCO Archives Portal: United Nations links to national, regional, state, and university archives around the world. 

• American Memory Project: Mulit-media links to American history from the collections of the Library of Congress.
• History Matters: A general clearinghouse and gateway site for materials on the teaching of American history. 
• Patrick Rael's Guide to Reading, Writing, and Researching for History: Guidelines for writing history papers. 

Books about American History are normally found in the E and F sections on the third floor of the Stiern Library.

E 171-183.9 - History of the United States

E 184.5-185.98 - Afro-Americans

E 186-199 - Colonial History (1607-1775)

E 201-298 - The Revolution, 1775-1783

E 401-415.2 - Mexican War, 1846-1848

E 456-655 - Civil War period, 1861-1865

F 1-975 - United States local history

• HyperTexts, American Studies Program, University of Virginia: Digital collections of important Americans texts. 
• Kern County Library: The KCL has a local history collection of books, a digital photo collection, and historical Kern County newspaper holdings on microfilm. 
• Library of Congress: United States National Library. 
• New York Public Library: Searches NYPL research libraries.