Library Home: History: Newspapers

Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America.

In addition to coverage of the American Civil War, African American culture and history, westward migration, Antebellum-era life, and other major topics, the collection also includes scholarly essays on nineteenth-century American history written by prominent historians.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 512,087 issues comprising 5,561,455 pages and 38,183,609 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)

The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.

The American Antiquarian Society’s collection of rare periodicals spanning 1691-1902 presents primary source materials for historical research on advertising, agriculture, business, history, journalism, literature, women’s studies and provides access to published letters, first person narratives and memoirs, transcripts from speeches and more.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)

This collection of periodicals from 1821 to 1837 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)

The American Antiquarian Society’s collection of rare periodicals spanning 1691-1902 presents primary source materials for historical research on advertising, agriculture, business, history, journalism, literature, women’s studies and provides access to published letters, first person narratives and memoirs, transcripts from speeches and more.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)

This collection of periodicals from 1853 to 1865 focuses on the Civil War and a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)

This collection of periodicals from 1866 to 1912 reflects a nation that persevered through a difficult set of circumstances and provides overage of broad subject areas that reach into every facet of American life.
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
Full text coverage: Jul 23, 2003 – present. Citation/Abstract coverage: Jan 5, 1989 - present
Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012.

Explore the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.

LA Times Historical 1881-1886
LA Times Historical 1886-1922
LA Times Historical 1922-1993
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.