Native American History Research
Where to find primary sources (selected list):
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration: https://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/native-americans.html
Online Archive of California (OAC): https://oac.cdlib.org
Smithsonian National Museum of American History: http://americanhistory.si.edu
U.S. Library of Congress: https://www.loc.gov
Various State Historical Archives
County and City Libraries and Museums: Many will have digital collections. For local Native American Tribes consult with the Kern County Museum, Kern River Valley Museum, and the Beale Memorial Library.
American Antiquarian Society Periodicals Collection Database available through the Walter Stiern Library
Selected Secondary Sources:
Databases see: American History and Life, Military and Government Collection, and Historical Abstracts available on EBSCO host through the Walter Stiern Library. Also JSTOR
CSUB Walter Stiern Library’s “One Search”
Kroeber, Alfred Louis. Handbook of the Indians of California. Berkeley: California Book Company, 1967. E51 .U6 no.78 also available electronically
Latta, Frank F. California Indian Folklore.Shafter, CA: Edited and Published by Frank F. Latta, 1936. E98.F6 L34 located in the California Rare Book Room.
Selected Tertiary Sources:
Handbook of North American Indians 20 vols. Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-2008. REF E77 H25
Keenan, Jerry.Encyclopedia of American Indian wars, 1492-1890. New York: W.W. Norton, 1999. REF E81 K44 1999
Waldman, Carl. Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. New York: Facts on File, 1988. REF E76.2. W35 1988
Selected Research Guides:
American Indian Records in the National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/research/native-americans
South Dakota State Archives—Guide to American Indian Research in South Dakota https://history.sd.gov/archives/Data/Archives/default.aspx
