Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides over 80 history textbooks and offers the wide range of history subjects from American history to the Viking era.
Orange Grove Textbooks
Orange Grove provides users with over 150 book for students to gain access to for free.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
American Historical Association
The primary professional society for historians. Includes special resources for teaching history.
Royal Historical Society
The Royal Historical Society was founded in 1868 and remains the foremost society in Great Britain promoting and defending the scholarly study of the past.
A subject gateway to scholarly information in history. Emphasis on Anglo-American history. Maintained by the State and University Library at Gottingen, Germany.
Providing online courses and guides for students to access and learn for their own enjoyment and educational purposes.
An overall guide for History, including various History courses such as American Civics to European History, just to name a few.
SCHOLARS' GUIDE TO WWW
A good starting site that includes recommended resources in history. By Richard Jensen.
CSU Image Project
Provides access to California State University image collections for teaching and research.
Online resources for scholars, teachers, and students in the humanities and social sciences. Contains a comprehensive collection of history discussion lists.
Sponsored by Primedia History Group, the publisher of popular history magazines. Designed to reach and encourage a popular audience to make history relevant to today and to understanding events.
History of Science Society
Offers an excellent introduction to sources on the History of Science. Search the Guide to the History of Science to learn about people, organizations, and publications.
Contains helpful information on events and popular documentaries, often by History professors.
World Wide Web Virtual Library History Central Catalogue
Recommended as a basic starting site to explore Web resources for all areas of history. Indexes history sites in a clear manner, so you can search by research method, era, historical topic, or country and region.
Ebooks in the Library
The library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what is available, enter your subject in the library catalog and select as a phrase in the drop down menu. If a book is in ebook format, it will say view ebook in the record.
Almost all of the library's ebooks are multiuser. This means that your whole class could access the book simultaneously and for free!
Use the ISBN of Your Current Textbook to Find Free Alternatives