Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Merlot Free eTextbooks
About eighteen textbooks available for Library and Information Science.
Python for Informatics
Open-access textbook, Python for Informatics, accompanied by course materials. Teaches Python programming for non-computer scientists.
Noba is an online platform that provides open, ready-made psychology textbooks and the opportunity to build a textbook from freely available chapters. Users must create an account to use Noba.
Ebook in the Library
The library has an extensive collection of ebooks on a variety of topics. To find what is available, enter your subject in the library catalog and select as a phrase in the drop down menu. If a book is in ebook format, it will say view ebook in the record.
Almost all of the library's ebooks are multiuser. This means that your whole class could access the book simultaneously and for free!
ePrints in Library and Information Science
E-LIS is an open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished, on librarianship, information science and technology, and related areas. More than 14,500 documents are currently available.
DLIST: Digital Library of Information Science & Technology
Maintained by the University of Arizona, "DLIST is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Museum Informatics, and other critical information infrastructures."
Library and Information Science: A Guide to Online Resources
Compiled by the Library of Congress, this list provides links to free online repositories and other full-text resources.
Libraries and Librarianship : A Collection in Illinois Harvest
Maintained by the University of Illinois, Illinois Harvest is an open-access digital library of books. Mainly historic, it includes "numerous annual reports from libraries in Illinois, including the Chicago Public Library and the Newberry Library; early bulletins and conference proceedings of the American Library Association; numerous publications from the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign."
Peer-Reviewed Instructional Materials Online Database. Has almost 300 resources, including YouTube tutorials, online tools, and even a graphic novel to teach information literacy and other library-related skills. Sortable by title, author, category, or date.
Over 30 free courses from Michigan's School of Information on a variety of library-related courses.
Free, live-time courses from various universities worldwide. Some (particularly under the category "Information, Tech, and Design") apply to library and information science.
RSS Feeds for Free Materials
Directory of Open Access Journals: Added in the last week