Merlot.org - the MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. You may browse their collection, add an online learning material you have found or created, and create accessible, scaleable, multi-page website with Content Builder entirely for free.
OER Commons - was developed to serve educators in discovering, creating, and collaborating around the use, evaluation, and improvement of open educational resources. Not only can OER Commons help during the hunt for OERs, but it can also serve as a place to create resources. The OER Commons open author tool allows users to combine text, images, audio, and video files into their own customized resource as well as create brand new resources from scratch. https://research.pugetsound.edu/oer/findingoer
OpenStax - OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. As an educational initiative, it's our mission to improve educational access and learning for everyone. Through our partnerships with philanthropic foundations and our alliance with other educational resource companies, we're breaking down the most common barriers to learning. Because we believe that everyone should and can have access to knowledge.
Looking for more information about OpenStax? Visit our FAQ page.
Open Educational Resources Initiative - The OERI’s mission is to reduce the cost of educational resources for students by expanding the availability and adoption of high-quality Open Educational Resources (OER). “OER” refers to teaching and learning materials that are freely available online for everyone to use and includes course modules, lectures, homework assignments, lab and classroom activities, pedagogical materials, games, simulations, and many more resources contained in digital media collections from around the world (as defined by OER Commons. OER most often refers to openly-licensed textbooks and ancillary materials that are available at little or no cost to students.
Bookboon was created in 2005 and has since become the world’s largest provider of ebooks. They offer a huge array of online books for college students and have over 1,000 college and university textbooks available to download - completely for free. Students studying STEM subjects or business may find this site particularly helpful, as the site was initially designed with these subjects in mind and they can be found on the very first page. With compatibility for laptops, tablets, and cellphones, students can pick up where they left off with bookmark tools and a memo pad for taking notes. A cloud-based medium means there’s no installation, making Bookboon one of the most efficient resources available for students in the modern era.
SkillsCommons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.
Open Textbook Library - Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering 1309 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
Browse their FAQ webpage for answers to common questions.
Saylor Academy - Learn new skills, earn credit toward a degree, or advance your career at your own pace.
Big 10 Open Books - This collection has established a model for unified, open-access publishing of scholarly monographs. It creates open content, on open infrastructure, using open distribution models - to envision a robust programmatic future for open monograph publishing. This work is aligned with the Big Ten Academic Alliance’s development of the BIG Collection's ambition of uniting the collections of the libraries of the Big Ten Academic Alliance, and is supported by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation's Public Knowledge program. Big Ten Open Books launched it's first collection on Gender and Sexuality Studies on August 1, 2023.
