Library Home: Kinesiology Research Guide: Articles & Databases

Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly Articles

Peer-Reviewed articles:

Original, scholarly research conducted by experts within a field or discipline
Prior to publication, work is reviewed by other scholars or experts within that same discipline
Peer-review ensures that the information being presented to you is based on solid evidence, scientific facts, not opinions
Provides a level of quality control
Articles generally include: Introduction, literature review, method, analysis, conclusion, references

Peer review is important not only because your professors will be requiring it of you, but also because they represent the most scholarly, most authoritative information within the different disciplines

What's a Database?

A database is a source of organized, searchable information or data. Databases can contain academic journals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, dissertations, e-books, reports, conference proceedings, government legislation, and much more.

Databases require specific searching with keywords and concepts. Examples: Academic Search Complete, ProQuest, Science Direct

Creating a Search Statement

1. Create a Research statement

This can be in the form of a question or a sentence. Just think about what you want to research and write it down in one sentence.

2. Identify the Keywords

Look at your research statement. What are the main words or concepts? They will likely be nouns, and can include phrases. Highlight them.

3. Think of synonyms

Look at the words/phrases you highlighted and think of synonyms or alternate phrases to describe those concepts. Scholarly articles often use words that we wouldn’t use in ordinary life.

4. Search in the databases

Pick two or three words/phrases from your list. Put each concept in its own search box.

5. Search again!

Try different combinations of words to get different results. Add more words to narrow down your results. Look at the “Subject” headings for each article to see what keywords are being used the most.

Databases

The information and resources found within library databases are extensive and of higher quality than most resources found on the open web. Instead of using Google to find information, make use of the vast amount of credible, quality information found within the databases.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content for health professionals, researchers and students, with coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Subjects Include:
Clinical specialties such as orthopedics
Coaching and education
Consumer health
Exercise science and fitness
Health education
Kinesiology
Nutrition
Occupational health and safety
Physical education
Physical therapy
Sports sciences
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
Subject collections across disciplines such as biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering and veterinary medicine.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers full-text journals and includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of subject areas for academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences with coverage from the 17th century to the present, charting the evolution of psychology over time through peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations.
America's Health Rankings This link opens in a new window
For nearly 3 decades, America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings including issue briefs and spotlights on special topics such as the Preparing for Health Care Costs in Retirement and the Impact of Unhealthy Behaviors.
The Annual Report is the longest running annual assessment of the nation’s health on a state-by-state basis, analyzing a comprehensive set of behaviors, public and health policies, community and environmental conditions, and clinical care data to provide a holistic view of the health of the people in the nation.

The Senior Report presents a comparative health report for the U.S. population aged 65 and older.

The Health of Women and Children Report is focused on women of reproductive age, infants and children under age 18, this report emphasizes the population groups where change can make generational differences.

The national report on active duty and veteran U.S. service, The Health of Those Who Have Served, explores the differences in health and health-related measures between those now serving or who have served in the military and the civilian population as well as establishes a baseline portrait of the health of women who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces compared with the health of women civilians.

Boolean Operators - AND, OR, NOT

*Reused with permission from PGCC Libraries.

Kinesiology Research Guide

Scholarly Article Example

Research Terms Defined